• Home
  • Contact Us
  • My Account
  • Children
  • Teens
  • Catalog
  • Research
  • About

Programs for Adults

For more information, call 203-574-8225 or email bronsonlibrary@waterburyct.org.


 



       

Book A Librarian
Please call 203-574-8225 to schedule an appointment,
or visit our Book A Librarian page.

Whether you need help with a resume, want some help looking up information, or want some help learning to use some of the library's resources, you can now "book a librarian" to help you one-on-one for up to one hour.

Schedule your appointment by calling 203-574-8225 or visit our Book A Librarian page.

 

 



       

One-on-One Computer Help
Please call 203-574-8225 to schedule an appointment,
or visit our Book A Librarian page.

Can't attend our Computer Classes?  Need help with a different computer problem?  Call us at 203-574-8225 to schedule a one-on-one computer appointment at a time that works for you! 

 


Computer Classes


      

Computer & Smartphone Classes
Tuesdays, 1:30 p.m.
Computer Classroom

Our librarians will teach you what you need to know about using computers and smartphones. 

February 27: Android Apps

March 5: Staying Safe on the Internet

March 12:  Computer Basics - Uploading, Downloading, Organizing Files

March 19: Computer Basics - Understanding Your Computer's Settings

March 26: Computers Basics - Keyboard Shortcuts

April 2: Email Basics - Gmail (bring your smartphone if you have one)

April 9: Internet Basics - Searching, Downloading, Printing

April 16: MS Word, Part 1

April 23: MS Word, Part 2

May 7: Android Basics

May 14: Learn to Zoom

May 21: Ebook & Audiobooks Apps on Your Phone

 


      

Computer Evening Classes
Wednesdays, 6:30 p.m.
Computer Classroom

Brush up on the computer skills you need for work.

   

March 6: Excel, Part 1

March 20:  Excel, Part 2

March 19: Computer Basics - Understanding Your Computer's Settings 

April 3: MS Word, Part 1 

April 17: MS Word, Part 2 

May 1: PowerPoint

May 15: Going Beyond Google - Great Free Online Research Resources

 


      

Digital Arts Lab
Tuesdays, December 5 & 19, January 16 & 30, February 13 & 27, 4:30 p.m.
Computer Classroom

Are you trying to edit photos, compose a song, make a movie, or work on another digital project?  Use one of the library's iMacs with Creative Suite software for your project! Call the Reference desk to reserve a one hour session on an iMac to work on your projects.  Need help with the iMac?  Just let us know!

NOTE: The December 19 session has been cancelled.

 


      

Digital Impact: Elevating Your Online Presence
Wednesdays, April 3 - May 22, 5 p.m.
Computer Classroom

Discover the latest in social media trends, content creation, and audience engagement in the ever-evolving digital landscape. This interactive workshop will provide you with practical tools and innovative approaches to amplify your online voice. Whether you’re aiming to increase your community outreach, boost fundraising efforts, or elevate your brand, join us to unlock the full potential of your digital presence. It’s more than a workshop: it’s your gateway to making a lasting online impact.

Presented by Brass City Gamers.

Class size is limited. Please click here to register.

 

 


February

 

       

Black History Month Trivia Night
Thursday, February 28, 6:30 p.m.
Main Reading Room

Join us for a trivia night celebrating Black History Month and the accomplishments of African Americans.

 

 

     

Coloring & Conversation Club
Thursday, February 29, 2:30 p.m.
Auditorium

Meet and chat every month during our Coloring and Conversation Club. Whether you are looking to relax and de-stress, practice your English conversation skills, or meet new people, you are welcome to join us! Coloring pages and supplies will be provided.

 

 


March

       

Sisters to Sisters Book Club
Thursday, March 7, 6 p.m.
Auditorium

New members welcome. Copies of the book are available to borrow from the library.

In March, we'll be discussing The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore.

 

Book Description:

Elizabeth Packard is committed to an insane asylum by her husband in 1860. The horrific conditions inside the Illinois State Hospital in Jacksonville, Illinois, are overseen by Dr. Andrew McFarland, a man who will prove to be even more dangerous to Elizabeth than her traitorous husband. But most disturbing is that Elizabeth is not the only sane woman confined to the institution. There are many rational women on her ward who tell the same story: they've been committed not because they need medical treatment, but to keep them in line - conveniently labeled "crazy" so their voices are ignored.

 

 

       

Grow Your Own Vegetables
Thursday, March 14, 1 p.m.
Auditorium

Spring is the perfect time to start your vegetable garden. Get practical tips on how to get the best results from Shawn Joseph, Director of Operations at Brass City Harvest in Waterbury. Joseph is a farmer and the author of Grow to Eat: A Vegetable Growing Guide.

 

 

        

Bunker Bookies
Thursday, March 14, 1:30 p.m.
Bunker Hill Branch Library

Come join our in-person book club at the Bunker Hill Branch! Copies of the book are available to borrow. Free parking is available in the library's parking lot.

In March, we'll be discussing The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict.

 

Book Description:

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

 

 

       

Ruth: Justice Ginsburg In Her Own Words
Tuesday, March 26, 6 p.m.
Main Reading Room

Join us for a documentary about Ruth Bader Ginsburg, in celebration of Women’s History Month. Throughout her legal career, Justice Ginsburg faced gender discrimination and became an advocate for gender equality and women’s rights. Learn more about the challenges she faced and her achievements with this inspiring documentary.

 

 

        

BRASS Book Club
Thursday, March 28, 12:30 p.m.
Zoom

For seniors age 60+

In March, we'll be discussing One Summer: America, 1927 by Bill Bryson. Copies of the book are available to borrow from the library.

 

Book Description:  

Bill Bryson transports readers on a journey back to one amazing season in American life. The summer of 1927 began with one of the signature events of the twentieth century: on May 21, 1927, Charles Lindbergh became the first man to cross the Atlantic by plane nonstop, and when he landed in Le Bourget airfield near Paris, he ignited an explosion of worldwide rapture and instantly became the most famous person on the planet. Meanwhile, the titanically talented Babe Ruth was beginning his assault on the home run record, which would culminate on September 30 with his sixtieth blast, one of the most resonant and durable records in sports history. In between those dates a Queens housewife named Ruth Snyder and her corset-salesman lover garroted her husband, leading to a murder trial that became a huge tabloid sensation. All this and much, much more transpired in that epochal summer of 1927.

Advance registration is required for this Zoom program. Click here to register.


 

     

Coloring & Conversation Club
Thursday, March 28, 2:30 p.m.
Auditorium

Meet and chat every month during our Coloring and Conversation Club. Whether you are looking to relax and de-stress, practice your English conversation skills, or meet new people, you are welcome to join us! Coloring pages and supplies will be provided.

 

 

       

Genealogy Tips: Ancestry.com
Thursday, March 28, 6:30 p.m.
Computer Classroom

Learn how to research your family tree using Ancestry.com, a powerful tool available at the library for free. Explore billions of census, vital, census, military, immigration, and other records.

 

 

 

        

Philip V. Benevento Cultural Program for Adults
The Jolly Beggars
Saturday, March 30, 1 p.m.
Main Reading Room

The Jolly Beggars bring the rich tradition of Celtic folk music and storytelling to modern day audiences. Their traditional songs and musical arrange-ments have exposed many to the joys of Celtic music. They tell traditional stories from Irish folklore and intersperse their musical arrangements with traditional reels and jigs.

 

The Philip V. Benevento Fund for Cultural Programs for Adults at the Silas Bronson Library was established in 2016 in honor of Waterbury’s City Historian and former Silas Bronson Library Board member Philip V. Benevento. The fund continues to grow through individual donations made to the Friends of the Silas Bronson Library.